Welcome to the 2017 SANZ-O-MAG2 workshop website

Welcome to the 2017 SANZ-O-MAG2 workshop website

The 75 delegates at the SANZ-O-MAG2 magnetism workshop at the University of Otago 8-10 February 2017 were treated to a series of excellent tutorials on a wide range of magnetism topics, as well as to outstanding research talks by the six students selected from the abstracts by the advisory panel to compete for the Murray Prize.

The timetable

Some photos taken at the workshop follow:


Snapshot of delegates at SANZ-O-MAG2, including in the front row (left to right): Dr Tony Keene (chair of SANZMAG1), Prof Keith Murray (after whom the Murray Prize is named) and Prof Sally Brooker (chair SANZ-O-MAG2). Photo: Dr Jason Price.

Speakers at SANZ-O-MAG2

Speakers at SANZ-O-MAG2. Photo: Dr Anna Garden.

Student Competitors for Murray Prize

Student competitors for the Murray Prize (left to right): Santi Rodríguez-Jiménez (runner up, prize sponsored by the MacDiarmid Institute), Ross Hogue, Edward O’Neill, Professor Keith Murray, Simone Calvello, Chanel Leong, Katrina Zenere (winner of the Murray Prize, sponsored by the University of Otago). Photo: Dr Jason Price.

Murray Prize Talk Winners

Winner, and runner up, of the Murray Prize for the best student talk, with the judges (left to right): A/Prof Matthew Shores (Colorado State), Santi Rodríguez-Jiménez (Otago; MacDiarmid Institute sponsored runner up prize), Katrina Zenere (Sydney; winner of University of Otago sponsored Murray Prize), Prof Eugenio Coronado (Valencia), Dr Tony Keene (UCD). Photo: Dr Jason Price.

Murray Prize Poster Winners

Winners of the poster prizes with the poster prize judges (left to right): Adam Gorczyński (Adam Mickiewicz University; NZIC Otago branch prize), Hannah Davidson (Otago; Inorganic Chemistry prize), Dr Sam Duyker (Sydney; Dalton Trans prize), A/Prof David Harding (Walailak), Prof Annie Powell (KIT), Prof Colette Boskovic (Melbourne), Ryuichi Murase (Melbourne/Sydney; Chem Comm prize), Dr David Turner (Monash). Photo: Dr Jason Price.

This, the second SANZMAG workshop, SANZ-O-MAG2, will be hosted by the University of Otago from Wednesday 8 to Friday 10 February 2017. It has been timed to fit in with the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology international conference, AMN8, in Queenstown starting Sunday afternoon 12 February. The trip from Dunedin to Queenstown is a nice drive (or bus ride) which can easily be done on one of the days that weekend, perhaps after a yummy breakfast at the Dunedin Farmers Market at the Railway Station on the Saturday morning (from about 8am).

The workshop will feature tutorials by experts in the field, as well as student talks and posters. As for the first SANZMAG, the Murray Prize will be awarded, by Professor Keith Murray (Monash), for the best student talk, and there will be poster prizes too.

Delegates are housed at Arana Residential College (for Wed-Fri nights). This college is a 5-10 min walk to the University. Poster sessions will be held here on Thursday and Friday afternoons.

Registration starts at 11AM at the Richardson Building Moot Court (red R1 on the map). Lectures will start here at 12:55.

3D Campus Map (note that North is pointing DOWN in this map, not up as is standard practise!) – showing the handy footpath/steps down the hill from Arana to the road and campus, and the location of the entrance to the Richardson building (red R1 on map). Moot Court (for registration and tutorials/lectures) is on the 10th floor of this building.

2D Campus Map (with North pointing up as is usual on maps, so this is opposite to the 3D map!) – showing not only Arana and the Richardson building but also a range of (not all!) nearby food outlets.

The SANZMAG, Southampton-Australia-New Zealand workshop on molecular magnetism, series was successfully launched in Sydney in 2014, by organisers Drs Tony Keene, Jon Kitchen, Deanna D'Alessandro and Suzanne Neville. The aim of SANZMAG conferences is to bring together researchers, especially from Australia and New Zealand, who have an interest in molecular magnetism. Whether you're a magnetochemist in an established group, or an honours student with an unexpected metal cluster, SANZMAG will provide a basic education in molecular magnetism from the fundamentals through to case studies of published systems by way of measurement techniques and sample preparation. We aim to keep the cost as low as possible for attendees by holding SANZMAG workshops in a central location for the region and keeping the organisation cheap and cheerful.

The University of Otago, New Zealand's first University, has an international reputation for research excellence. It is New Zealand's most research intensive university and a top-ranked university for research quality.

Dunedin is renowned for its spectacular beauty and is also a gateway to the beautiful scenery of Central Otago and the Catlins. Majestic Victorian and Edwardian architecture, a proximity to an abundance of wildlife and a healthy youth culture make for an exciting and fascinating visit. Early February is a great time to see Yellow Eyed Penguin and albatross chicks on Otago Peninsula, and if you like this sort of thing then a visit to Orokonui Eco-sanctuary is also a must.

Confirmed sponsors to date include:

                Dalton Transactions

Confirmed tutorial presenters:

International advisory committee:

  • Dr Tony Keene (University College Dublin)
  • Dr Jon Kitchen (Southampton University)
  • Dr Deanna D'Alessandro (Sydney University)
  • Dr Suzanne Neville (Sydney University)

We look forward to seeing you in Dunedin in February 2017!

Professor Sally Brooker
Conference Chair

Professor Sally Brooker