University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Chemistry Prize Winners 2016

Thursday 1 December 2016

Students studying at 100- to 400-level have been awarded prizes for achievements in chemistry in 2016.

The New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Prize for the top student in CHEM 111 was awarded to Emma Barnes, while Charlotte Arthur and Owen Martin were jointly awarded the Carter Prize for CHEM 191.

The F.G. Soper Prize for achievement in 200-level chemistry was jointly awarded to William Pelet, Jake Ward, Casey Bardsley and Cameron Keelty.

At 300-level, the Inglis Memorial Prize for the top BSc student majoring in chemistry was awarded to Charlie Ruffman.

Meanwhile, Oliver Pooke and Matthew Standley were jointly awarded the H.N. Parton Prize for the best 300-level BSc(Hons) student majoring in chemistry and The New Zealand Aluminium Smelters Prize for the top student in physical or aquatic chemistry went to Oliver Pooke.

Michael Badart and Jordan Smith were awarded the Joseph and Emma Mellor Prize for the leading students of 400-level chemistry and the P.K. Grant Prize for experimental skill and research methodology at 400 level was awarded to Michael Badart, Casey Caitlin-Stevens and Jordan Smith.