University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

NZIC Success

Friday 15 November 2013

The department received three of the four New Zealand Institute of Chemistry prizes for 2013.


Prof Rob SmithProfessor Robin A.J. Smith was awarded

The Maurice Wilkins Centre Prize for Chemical Science

This prize is awarded to a member of the Institute who has made a significant contribution to some branch of chemical science.

Assoc Prof Nigel PerryAssociate Professor Nigel B. Perry was awarded the

Prize for Industrial and Applied Chemistry

This prize is awarded for meritorious achievement in the field of industrial or applied chemistry.



Dr James CrowleyDr James Crowley received the

Easterfield Award

This medal is awarded to chemists in New Zealand in recognition of the quality and originality of their research work