University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Chemistry Prize Winners 2012

Friday 21 December 2012

Students studying at 100- to 400-level have been awarded prizes for achievements in chemistry in 2012.

The New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Prize for the top student in CHEM 111 was awarded to Benjamin Nistor, while Jun Lee was awarded the Carter Prize for CHEM 191.

The F.G. Soper Prize for achievement in 200-level chemistry was awarded to Max Wilkinson.

At 300-level, the Inglis Memorial Prize for the top BSc student majoring in chemistry was awarded to Dan Preston.

Meanwhile, Bethany Lomax and Geoffrey Weal were jointly awarded the H.N. Parton Prize for the best 300-level BSc(Hons) student majoring in chemistry and The New Zealand Aluminium Smelters Prize for the top student in physical or aquatic chemistry was awarded to Zoe Buxton.

Ross Hogue was awarded the Joseph and Emma Mellor Prize for the leading student of 400-level chemistry and Ilsa Cooke-Stewart was awarded the P.K. Grant Prize for experimental skill and research methodology at 400 level.