University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

2010 Erwin Schrödinger Prize

Wednesday 8 September 2010

Dr Mona Wells, a part-time researcher working with Drs. Sander and Hunter, is part of a team of three scientists awarded the 2010 Erwin Schrödinger Prize. The prize, which is accompanied by a cash award of 50,000 Euros, recognises contributions to interdisciplinary science, in particular work which has the potential to affect the most people in the most profound way.

The most important outcome of the team’s work is the development of a simple, inexpensive test that measures arsenic levels in drinking water and that has the potential to improve the lives of millions of people worldwide, though the same technology was also demonstrated in a 20-year retrospective study on the Exxon Valdez oil spill disaster, which Dr. Wells and her team mates (Prof. Hauke Harms and Prof. Jan Roelof van der Meer) published in Environmental Science & Technology last year.