University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Chemistry Prize Winners 2009

Wednesday 10 March 2010

Twelve students studying at 100- to 400-level have been awarded prizes for achievements in chemistry in 2009.

The New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Prize for the top student in CHEM 111 was awarded to Ross Hogue, Dougal Squire and Ilija Tolich, while Benjamin Paterson and Ki Jun Lee shared the Carter Prize for CHEM 191.

The F.G. Soper Prize for achievement in 200-level chemistry was awarded to Holly van der Salm.

At 300-level, the Inglis Memorial Prize for the top BSc student majoring in chemistry was won by Jean Wilson. Meanwhile, Laura Woods was awarded the H.N. Parton Prize for the best 300-level BSc(Hons) student majoring in chemistry. The New Zealand Aluminium Smelters Prize for the top student in physical or aquatic chemistry was split between Warrick Lo, Stasi Elliott and Laura Woods.

Isobel Maxwell-Cameron and Jacob Howe were jointly awarded the Joseph and Emma Mellor Prize for the leading student of 400-level chemistry and the P.K. Grant Prize for experimental skill and research methodology at 400 level.