University of Otago, New Zealand


Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Chemistry Prize Winners 2008

Wednesday 18 March 2009

Eight students studying at 100- to 400-level have been awarded prizes for achievements in chemistry in 2008.

Shay McDonald was awarded the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Prize as top student in CHEM 111, while Andrea Peat and Ting Lu shared the Carter Prize for CHEM 191.

The F.G. Soper Prize for achievement in 200-level chemistry was awarded to Fiona Bourke.

At 300-level, the Inglis Memorial Prize for the top BSc student majoring in chemistry was won by Blair Martyn. Meanwhile, Jacob Howe was awarded the H.N. Parton Prize for the best 300-level BSc(Hons) student majoring in chemistry and the New Zealand Aluminium Smelters Prize for the top student in physical or aquatic chemistry.

Sam Lind won the Joseph and Emma Mellor Prize for the leading student of 400-level chemistry and Sam Lind and Daniel Hutchinson shared the P.K. Grant Prize for experimental skill and research methodology at 400 level.