University of Otago, New Zealand

Chemistry

Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Staff Contact Details

Head of Department

Professor Lyall R. Hanton
Professor Lyall R. Hanton
(Head of Department)
Coordination and metallosupramolecular chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7918
Location: Science II, Gc7
lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professors

Professor Sally A. Brooker
Professor Sally A. Brooker
Coordination and macrocyclic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7919
Location: Science II, 2c4
sbrooker@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Russell D. Frew
Professor Russell D. Frew
Chemical oceanography - currently seconded to the IAEA until June 2015
Tel: (03) 479 7913
Location: Science II, 3n12
rfrew@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith C. Gordon
Professor Keith C. Gordon
Spectroscopy of inorganic and biological systems
Tel: (03) 479 7599
Location: Science II, 5n1
kgordon@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Lyall R. Hanton
Professor Lyall R. Hanton
(Head of Department)
Coordination and metallosupramolecular chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7918
Location: Science II, Gc7
lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith A. Hunter
Professor Keith A. Hunter
(Pro-Vice Chancellor - Sciences)
Marine chemistry and biogeochemistry of trace metals
Tel: (03) 479 7917
Location: Division of Sciences
keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

Professor A. James (Jim) McQuillan
Professor A. James (Jim) McQuillan
Spectroscopy at the solid/solution interface
Tel: (03) 479 7928
Location: Science II, 5n3
jmcquillan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

Professor Brian H. Robinson
Professor Brian H. Robinson
Organometallic & medical inorganic materials
Tel:
Location:  
brobinson@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Jim Simpson
Professor Jim Simpson
Organometallic & Polymer Materials
Tel: (03) 479 7914
Location: Science II, 3n13
jsimpson@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Robin A.J. Smith
Professor Robin A.J. Smith
Organic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7924
Location: Science II, 4n10
rajsmith@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Associate Professors

Associate Professor Jurian Hoogewerff
Associate Professor Jurian Hoogewerff
Forensic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7913
Location: 3n12
jhoogewerff@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor David S. Larsen
Associate Professor David S. Larsen
Organic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7816
Location: Science II, 2n11
dlarsen@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Steve Moratti
Associate Professor Steve Moratti
Polymer and Supramolecular Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7829
Location: Science II, 3n10
smoratti@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Barrie M. Peake
Associate Professor Barrie M. Peake
Environmental chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7927
Location: Science II, 1c4
bpeake@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sylvia Sander
Associate Professor Sylvia Sander
Trace metal speciation in natural aquatic systems and electroanalytical methods
Tel: (03) 479 7844
Location: Science II, 1n8c
sylvias@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Claudine Stirling
Associate Professor Claudine Stirling
Isotope Geochemistry, Director,
Community Trust of Otago Centre for Trace Element Analysis
Tel: (03) 479 7932 (Lab 479 5226)
Location: Science I, 103a
cstirling@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Lecturers

Dr James D. Crowley
Dr James D. Crowley
Synthetic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7731
Location: Science II, 2n10
jcrowley@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Kimberly J. Hageman
Dr Kimberly J. Hageman
Environmental Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5214
Location: Science II, 1c5
khageman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Alan R. Hayman
Dr Alan R. Hayman
Organic and flavour chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7923
Location: Science II, 4n9
hayman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Guy N. L. Jameson
Dr Guy N. L. Jameson
Biophysical Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 8028
Location: Science II, 5c4
gjameson@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Nigel T. Lucas
Dr Nigel T. Lucas
Synthesis and Supramolecular Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5377
Location: Science II, 3n11
nlucas@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Eng Wui Tan
Dr Eng Wui Tan
Organic and bioorganic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7926
Location: Science II, 2n9
ewtan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Lecturers

Dr Bill Hawkins
Dr Bill Hawkins
Organic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 471 6217
Location: Science II, 2n8
bhawkins@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Carla J. Meledandri
Dr Carla J. Meledandri
Nanoscale materials
Tel: (03) 479 5378
Location: Science II, 5n2
cmeledandri@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Middag
Dr Rob Middag
Oceanography
Tel: (03) 479 7907
Location: Science II, 1c6
rmiddag@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional Practice Fellows

Dr David Warren
Dr David Warren
Physical Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 4102
Location: Science II, 1c3
dwarren@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Teaching Fellows

Dr David A. McMorran
Dr David A. McMorran
100-level tutor
Tel: (03) 479 7934
Location: Science II, 1c2
davidm@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Teaching Fellows

Casey Davies
Casey Davies
Chemical Hazards and Management (HAZX401)
Tel: (03) 479 5248
Location: Science I, 101a
cdavies@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Research Fellows

Dr John McAdam
Dr John McAdam
Organometallic napthalimides
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
mcadamj@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Fellows

Dr Jaydee Cabral
Dr Jaydee Cabral
Supervior: Assoc. Prof. Stephen C. Moratti / Prof. Lyall R. Hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
jcabral@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Shailesh Goswami
Dr Shailesh Goswami
Supervior: Assoc Prof. Stephen C. Moratti / Prof. Lyall R. Hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
sgoswami@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Robert Van Hale
Dr Robert Van Hale
Isotope Ratio Mass Spectrometry Unit
Tel: (03) 479 7915
Location: Science II, 3s6
robertv@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Malcolm R. Reid
Dr Malcolm R. Reid
Scientific Officer
Tel: (03) 479 5376
Location: Science II, 1n8b
mreid@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Assistant Research Fellows

Marina Roxburgh
Marina Roxburgh
Supervisor: Supervisor: Prof. Lyall hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897
Location: Science II, 3n9
mroxburgh@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postdoctoral Fellows

Humphrey Feltham
Humphrey Feltham
Supervisor: Prof. Sally A. Brooker
Tel: (03) 479 7901
Location: Science II, 2c2
hfeltham@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Melanie Gault-Ringold
Dr Melanie Gault-Ringold
Supervisor: Dr Claudine Stirling
Tel: (03) 479 7905
Location: Science II, 1n8
melaniegr@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

 blank photo
Brian Kueh
Supervisor: Assoc Prof. David S. Larsen
Tel: (03) 479 7922
Location: Science II, 4c9
brian.kueh@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca McLeod
Dr Rebecca McLeod
Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Russell D. Frew
Tel: (03) 470 3596
Location: Science II, 3c4
rmcleod@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Egor Tchesnokov
Dr Egor Tchesnokov
Supervisor: Dr. Guy N.L. Jameson
Tel: (03) 479 5248
Location: Science I, 101a
etchesnokov@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Assistants

Smita Ghosh
Smita Ghosh
Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Stephen C. Moratti
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3c9
sghosh@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Beth Lomax
Beth Lomax
Supervisors: Professor Keith C. Gordon, Dr Nigel Lucas
Tel: (03) 479 9089
Location: Science II, 3c3
bethany.lomax@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

NIWA/University of Otago Research Centre for Oceanography

Dr Evelyn Armstrong
Dr Evelyn Armstrong
Research Fellow
Tel: (03) 479 5249
Location: Science II, 1n8d
earmstrong@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Kim I. Currie
Dr Kim I. Currie
Marine chemistry of carbon dioxide
Tel: (03) 479 5249
Location: Science II, 1n8d
kimc@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Plant & Food Research

Elaine J. Burgess
Elaine J. Burgess
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5257
Location: Science II, 4s7a
elaine.burgess@plantandfood.co.nz

Dr John W. van Klink
Dr John W. van Klink
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 8966
Location: Science II, 4s7b
john.vanklink@plantandfood.co.nz

Dr Lesley Larsen
Dr Lesley Larsen
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7925
Location: Science II, 4c4
lesley.larsen@plantandfood.co.nz

Associate Professor Nigel B. Perry
Associate Professor Nigel B. Perry
Natural products chemistry - Research Leader
Tel: (03) 479 8354
Location: Science II, 4s6
nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

Catherine Sansom
Catherine Sansom
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 8357
Location: Science II, 4s7a
catherine.sansom@plantandfood.co.nz

^ Top of page

Campbell Microanalytical Laboratory

Pauline Bandeen
Pauline Bandeen
Microanalytical Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7886
Location: Science II, 5c13
pauline@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Bob McAllister
Bob McAllister
Microanalytical Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7886
Location: Science II, 5c13
rmcallister@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Store

Nigel Alefosio
Nigel Alefosio
Store technician/ Purchasing
Tel: (03) 479 7894
Location: Science II, Gs5
nalefosio@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Sean Bray
Sean Bray
Store technician/ Purchasing
Tel: (03) 479 7894
Location: Science II, Gs5
sbray@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Administration

Pip Jack
Pip Jack
Departmental Secretary
Tel: (03) 479 7912
Location: Science II, Gc1
pjack@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Theresa Mendoza
Theresa Mendoza
Departmental Administrator
Tel: (03) 479 7911
Location: Science II, Gc1a
tmendoza@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Kiri Miller
Kiri Miller
Receptionist/Secretary
Tel: (03) 479 7908
Location: Science II, Gc1
kmiller@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Technical Staff

David Barr
David Barr
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 470 3588
Location: Science I, 110
dbarr@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Cathy Bennett
Cathy Bennett
Head Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7576
Location: Science II, Gc5
cathy@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Ian Billinghurst
Ian Billinghurst
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7881
Location: Science I, 107
ianb@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Daryl Braid
Daryl Braid
Mechanical fabrication and electrical testing
Tel: (03) 479 7895
Location: Science II, Gs3
daryl@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Lisa Bucke
Lisa Bucke
Graphics Technician
Tel: (03) 479 5756
Location: Science II, Gc6
lisa@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dianne Clark
Dianne Clark
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 5092/470 3596
Location: Science II, 3c4
dclark@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Alan Helliwell
Alan Helliwell
Mechanical fabrication
Tel: (03) 479 7895
Location: Science II, Gs3
ahelliwell@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Jenny Lyburn
Jenny Lyburn
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 7904
Location: Science II, Gn8a
jenny.lyburn@otago.ac.nz

Benjamin Miller
Benjamin Miller
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7881
Location: Science I, 107
bmiller@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Rachael Nicoll
Rachael Nicoll
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7887
Location: Science I, 204
rnicoll@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Paul Reynolds
Paul Reynolds
Electronics design and fabrication
Tel: (03) 479 7818
Location: Science II, Gs2
reynolds@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Mathew Rooney
Mathew Rooney
IT support
Tel: (03) 479 5756
Location: Science II, Gc6
mrooney@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Karen Rowley
Karen Rowley
Teaching Laboratory Co-ordinator
Tel: (03) 479 7887
Location: Science I, 107 & 204
karen@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Roel Schouten
Roel Schouten
Health and Safety Compliance Officer
Tel: (03) 479 7672 or 021 279 7672
Location: Science II, 2n12
rschouten@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Ian Stewart
Ian Stewart
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 7904
Location: Science II, Gn8a
ians@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Garth Tyrrell
Garth Tyrrell
Mechanical design and fabrication
Tel: (03) 479 7895
Location: Science II, Gs3
gtyrrell@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

John Wells
John Wells
Glassblowing
Tel: (03) 479 7933
Location: Science II, 4n8
jwells@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Tearoom

 blank photo
Trish McEntyre
 
Tel: (03) 479 7909
Location: Science II, 2s7
tmcentyre@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page


Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.