University of Otago, New Zealand

Chemistry

Te Tari Hua-Ruanuku

Staff Contact Details

Head of Department

Professor Lyall R. Hanton
Professor Lyall R. Hanton
(Head of Department)
Coordination and metallosupramolecular chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7918
Location: Science II, Gc7
lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professors

Professor Sally A. Brooker
Professor Sally A. Brooker
Coordination and macrocyclic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7919
Location: Science II, 2c4
sbrooker@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Russell D. Frew
Professor Russell D. Frew
Chemical oceanography
Tel: (03) 479 7913
Location: Science II, 3n12
rfrew@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith C. Gordon
Professor Keith C. Gordon
Spectroscopy of inorganic and biological systems
Tel: (03) 479 7599
Location: Science II, 5n1
kgordon@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Lyall R. Hanton
Professor Lyall R. Hanton
(Head of Department)
Coordination and metallosupramolecular chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7918
Location: Science II, Gc7
lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith A. Hunter
Professor Keith A. Hunter
Marine chemistry and biogeochemistry of trace metals
Tel: (03) 479 7917
Location: Science II, 5c4
keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

Professor David S. Larsen
Professor David S. Larsen
Organic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7816
Location: Science II, 2n11
dlarsen@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Nigel B. Perry
Professor Nigel B. Perry
Natural products chemistry - Research Leader
Tel: (03) 479 8354
Location: Science II, 4s6
nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

Professor A. James (Jim) McQuillan
Professor A. James (Jim) McQuillan
Spectroscopy at the solid/solution interface
Tel: (03) 479 7924
Location: Science II, 4n10
jmcquillan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Jim Simpson
Professor Jim Simpson
Organometallic & Polymer Materials
Tel: (03) 479 7927
Location: Science 1 Chem4
jsimpson@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Robin A.J. Smith
Professor Robin A.J. Smith
Organic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7924
Location: Science II, 4n10
rajsmith@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Associate Professors

Associate Professor James D. Crowley
Associate Professor James D. Crowley
Synthetic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7731
Location: Science II, 2n10
jcrowley@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Kimberly J. Hageman
Associate Professor Kimberly J. Hageman
Environmental Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5214
Location: Science II, 5n4
khageman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Steve Moratti
Associate Professor Steve Moratti
Polymer and Supramolecular Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7829
Location: Science II, 3n10
smoratti@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sylvia Sander
Associate Professor Sylvia Sander
Trace metal speciation in natural aquatic systems and electroanalytical methods
Tel: (03) 479 7844
Location: Science II, 1n8c
sylvias@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Claudine Stirling
Associate Professor Claudine Stirling
Isotope Geochemistry, Director,
Community Trust of Otago Centre for Trace Element Analysis
Tel: (03) 479 7932 (Lab 479 5226)
Location: Science I, 103a
cstirling@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Lecturers

Dr Bill Hawkins
Dr Bill Hawkins
Organic Chemistry
Tel: (03) 471 6217
Location: Science II, 2n8
bhawkins@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Alan R. Hayman
Dr Alan R. Hayman
Organic and flavour chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7923
Location: Science II, 4n9
hayman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Nigel T. Lucas
Dr Nigel T. Lucas
Synthesis and Supramolecular Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5377
Location: Science II, 3n11
nlucas@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Christina McGraw
Dr Christina McGraw
 
Tel: (03) 479 7907
Location: Science II, 3n13
cmcgraw@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Carla J. Meledandri
Dr Carla J. Meledandri
Nanoscale materials
Tel: (03) 479 5378
Location: Science II, 5n2
cmeledandri@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Eng Wui Tan
Dr Eng Wui Tan
Organic and bioorganic chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7926
Location: Science II, 2n9
ewtan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Lecturers

Dr Anna Garden
Dr Anna Garden
Computational Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 7928
Location: Science II, Room 5n3
anna.garden@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional Practice Fellows

Dr David Warren
Dr David Warren
Physical Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 4102
Location: Science II, Gc3
dwarren@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Teaching Fellows

Dr David A. McMorran
Dr David A. McMorran
100-level tutor
Tel: (03) 479 7934
Location: Science II, Gc2
davidm@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Teaching Fellows

Dr Casey Davies
Dr Casey Davies
Chemical Hazards and Management (HAZX401)
Tel:
Location:  
casey.davies@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Research Fellows

Dr John McAdam
Dr John McAdam
Organometallic napthalimides
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
mcadamj@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Fellows

Dr Jaydee Cabral
Dr Jaydee Cabral
Supervior: Assoc. Prof. Stephen C. Moratti / Prof. Lyall R. Hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
jcabral@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Gemma Cotton
Dr Gemma Cotton
 
Tel: (03) 470 4649
Location: Science II, 5c2
gcotton1@hotmail.com

Dr Humphrey Feltham
Dr Humphrey Feltham
Supervisor: Prof. Sally A. Brooker
Tel: (03) 479 7901
Location: Science II, 2c2
hfeltham@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Shailesh Goswami
Dr Shailesh Goswami
Supervior: Assoc Prof. Stephen C. Moratti / Prof. Lyall R. Hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897 or 479 7920
Location: Science II, 3n9
sgoswami@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Robert Van Hale
Dr Robert Van Hale
Isotope Ratio Mass Spectrometry Unit
Tel: (03) 479 7915
Location: Science II, 3s6
robertv@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Malcolm R. Reid
Dr Malcolm R. Reid
Scientific Officer
Tel: (03) 479 5376
Location: Science II, 1n8b
mreid@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Assistant Research Fellows

Sean MacKay
Sean MacKay
Supervisor: Dr Eng Wu Tan
Tel: (03) 479 7992
Location: Science II, 4c2
sean.mackay@otago.ac.nz

Marina Roxburgh
Marina Roxburgh
Supervisor: Supervisor: Prof. Lyall hanton
Tel: (03) 479 4897
Location: Science II, 3n9
mroxburgh@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postdoctoral Fellows

Brian Kueh
Brian Kueh
Supervisor: Dr Eng Wui Tan
Tel: (03) 479 7992
Location: Science II, 4c2
brian.kueh@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sara Miller
Dr Sara Miller
Analytical spectroscopy - in collaboration with the Dodd Walls centre
Tel: (03) 479 7599
Location: Science II, 5c9a
sara.miller@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Technicians

Judith Murdoch
Judith Murdoch
Oceanography
Tel: (03) 479 5742
Location: Portalab
judith.murdoch@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Assistants

Michael Badart
Michael Badart
Supervisor: Dr Eng Wui Tan
Tel: (03) 479 7922
Location: Science II, 4c9
badmi623@student.otago.ac.nz

Dr Dagmara Jaskolska
Dr Dagmara Jaskolska
Supervisor: Dr Carla J. Meledandri
Tel: (03) 470 4649
Location: Science II, 5c2
jasda828@student.otago.ac.nz

Dr Amandine Sabadel
Dr Amandine Sabadel
Supervisors: Prof. Russell D. Frew
Tel: (03) 479 5092
Location: Science II, 3c4
asabadel@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

NIWA/University of Otago Research Centre for Oceanography

Dr Evelyn Armstrong
Dr Evelyn Armstrong
Research Fellow
Tel: (03) 479 5249
Location: Science II, 1n8d
earmstrong@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Kim I. Currie
Dr Kim I. Currie
Marine chemistry of carbon dioxide
Tel: (03) 479 5249
Location: Science II, 1n8d
kimc@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Cliff Law
Professor Cliff Law
Marine biogeochemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5249
Location: Science II, 1n8d
cliff.law@niwa.co.nz

^ Top of page

Plant & Food Research

Elaine J. Burgess
Elaine J. Burgess
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 5257
Location: Science II, 4s7a
elaine.burgess@plantandfood.co.nz

Dr John W. van Klink
Dr John W. van Klink
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 8966
Location: Science II, 4s7b
john.vanklink@plantandfood.co.nz

Professor Nigel B. Perry
Professor Nigel B. Perry
Natural products chemistry - Research Leader
Tel: (03) 479 8354
Location: Science II, 4s6
nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

Catherine Sansom
Catherine Sansom
Natural Products Chemistry
Tel: (03) 479 8357
Location: Science II, 4s7a
catherine.sansom@plantandfood.co.nz

^ Top of page

Campbell Microanalytical Laboratory

Pauline Bandeen
Pauline Bandeen
Senior Microanalytical Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7886
Location: Science II, 5c13
microlab@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Lisa Bucke
Lisa Bucke
Microanalytical Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7886
Location: Science II, 5c13
microlab@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Store

Nigel Alefosio
Nigel Alefosio
Store technician/ Purchasing
Tel: (03) 479 7894
Location: Science II, Gs5
nalefosio@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Sean Bray
Sean Bray
Store technician/ Purchasing
Tel: (03) 479 7894
Location: Science II, Gs5
sbray@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Administration

Kristine Faed
Kristine Faed
Receptionist/Secretary
Tel: (03) 479 7908
Location: Gc1
kristine.faed@otago.ac.nz

Pip Jack
Pip Jack
Departmental Secretary
Tel: (03) 479 7912
Location: Science II, Gc1
pjack@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Theresa Mendoza
Theresa Mendoza
Departmental Administrator
Tel: (03) 479 7911
Location: Science II, Gc1a
theresa.mendoza@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Technical Staff

Mathew Anderson
Mathew Anderson
Systems Administrator
Tel: (03) 479 5756
Location: Science II Gc6
mathew.anderson@otago.ac.nz

David Barr
David Barr
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 470 3588
Location: Science II, 1n8
dbarr@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Cathy Bennett
Cathy Bennett
Head Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7576
Location: Science II, Gc5
cathy@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Ian Billinghurst
Ian Billinghurst
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7881
Location: Mellor Labs, G.07c
ianb@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Daryl Braid
Daryl Braid
Mechanical fabrication and electrical testing
Tel: (03) 479 7895
Location: Science II, Gs3
daryl@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Kaitlin Chin
Kaitlin Chin
Laboratory Technician
Tel: (03) 479 7881
Location: Mellor Labs, G.07c
jonka725@student.otago.ac.nz

Dianne Clark
Dianne Clark
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 5092/470 3596
Location: Science II, 3c4
dclark@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Miller
Dr Ben Miller
Health and Safety Compliance Officer
Tel: (03) 479 7672
Location: Science II, 2n12
bmiller@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Rachael Nicoll
Rachael Nicoll
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7887
Location: Mellor Labs, 2.11
rnicoll@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Jenny Pentelow
Jenny Pentelow
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 7904
Location: Science II, Gn8a
jenny.lyburn@otago.ac.nz

Paul Reynolds
Paul Reynolds
Electronics design and fabrication
Tel: (03) 479 7818
Location: Science II, Gs2
reynolds@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Karen Rowley
Karen Rowley
Team Leader, Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7887
Location: Mellor Labs, 2.11
karen@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Holly Shanks
Holly Shanks
Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories
Tel: (03) 479 7887
Location: Mellor Labs, 2.11
holly@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Ian Stewart
Ian Stewart
Instrument Support Person
Tel: (03) 479 7904
Location: Science II, Gn8a
ians@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Garth Tyrrell
Garth Tyrrell
Mechanical design and fabrication
Tel: (03) 479 7895
Location: Science II, Gs3
gtyrrell@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

John Wells
John Wells
Glassblowing
Tel: (03) 479 7933
Location: Science II, 4n8
jwells@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page


Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.